In Costco

A few days ago I went shopping with my mom and my sister in Costco, which really meant that I pushed the shopping cart while they put things in it, as they are far better at this than I am (and far more interested). This is what I wrote on my phone while we were there:

Already we have too little room. The kitchen may feel large, but that’s only because there’s so much space to walk in. The usable space is not really greater than in Denmark.

The storage space is, though, or at least I think it is. Plenty of our walls are literally lined with shelves. It has a nice effect: instead of mournfully echoing emptiness, you get a quietly promising emptiness, one that whispers of comfortable clutter to come.

The prices are overwhelming. A few things are the same, but most everything is at least half the price you can get it for in Denmark. And now we’re in Costco.

Costco is a good place to go if you want to be overwhelmed. Everything is plus size in Costco; they simply don’t sell anything small. They barely sell anything normal-sized. There are fifty-pound bags of flour and sugar here. For the sake of my peace of mind I’m going to asume they’re meant for restaurants.

We’re buying cheese from Denmark. Denmark, Wisconsin. I’m not sure why this is so amusing, but it is.

Leave a Reply

